Why I moved from Sweden to Ireland

It’s been about three months since I moved from Sweden to Ireland. So far, it has been quite a roller coaster ride, starting from visa application, searching for accommodation, and settling in as a resident in Ireland. Now, the first question that may pop up would be: why the move? Do I not like Sweden? Is Ireland much better than Sweden in terms of life quality?

Push factors

Do I like Sweden? Oh very, very much. In terms of life quality, it’s amazing. The level of support that we get in terms of healthcare, childcare, and education made us feel that every single cent of our the tax that we paid the government was worth it. The nature is amazing, the air is clean, and it’s very easy to go anywhere with bike and public transport. It’s very child friendly, and very easy to find playgrounds in residential areas. I can easily see myself getting a Swedish citizenship and retire quietly in Sweden.

So if I like Sweden so much, why did I end up moving?

Short answer: little to no chance of staying in Sweden long-term if I continue with my postdoc position there. Considering the long-term career prospect, it’s hard to say whether staying as a postdoc in Sweden would help me secure a long-term permanent job or not.

The research topic that I worked on at LiU leaned too much towards basic science with a relatively low technological readiness level. Furthermore, my division back then has more to do with coating instead of semiconductors, meaning that any industry that might have a link with my division is outside of both my skillset and area of interest.

As someone who only have a two-years contract without any assurance for extension, it’s hard to justify working on a project that may not give either industry-relevant skill sets or industry connections. I can try to maybe extend my contract for another year, but without a permanent residence permit it would turn into a real mess towards the end of my contract, where I have neither skills nor connections.

Pull factors

So, why Ireland? Again, the main consideration is career capital.

Tyndall National Institute, as a research institute, has strong ties with the industry. Starting from the material epitaxy level to the system level, many of the research topics are closely connected to industrial projects. As a result, most of the research topics will lead to skill sets that are highly valued by the industry. Plus, as an engineering graduate it gives me more satisfaction knowing that I’m working on something with high technological readiness level with a more concrete impact for society.

Working with industry-related projects also mean that it’s posible for me to find links to the industry. Realistically speaking, obtaining a stable, long-term career in academia is very challenging with the number of PhD graduates around and limited openings (I’m always under the impression that PhD graduates are a dime a dozen – but maybe that’s because I’m always surrounded by PhD holders). Therefore, going to the industry is an attractive alternative for a better pay rate, long-term career prospect, and transferrable skills.

Another thing that is not entirely related to me: it’s an english-speaking country, meaning it’s easier for my wife to find a job here in Ireland. Back then in Sweden, language becomes an important barrier in finding a job even though she’s a degree holder with several years of work experience. It’s also a good chance for our son to learn english, as we believe that it will be easier for us to help him with school if he’s taught in english.

So, will I stay long-term in Ireland?

At this point, I cannot say. The work in Tyndall Research Institute is fun. There are companies in Ireland that would employ someone with skills in photonics like me, which would be a great way to continue my career once my postdoc contract is up. On the other hand, with the current housing crisis in Ireland (this deserves a separate post), the car-centric development, lack of good public transport and cycling path, and lack of child-friendly facilities, I still have my own reservation about whether to settle down here or not. Oh and as a holder of the Indonesian passport, the fact that Ireland is out of Schengen area severely limits our travelling options. There is the option of obtaining Irish citizenship, but that will take at least five to six years.

Only time will tell, as I know that within two years I will be a different person compared to who I am right now.