Language Ammunition

One of the most basic aspects of learning language is, of course, memorizing vocabulary. Truthfully, I’m not the type of person who actually enjoy memorizing vocabularies because when I was studying english, I picked my dictionary from either playing games or reading novels.

Now that I’m learning Korean, however, things are a little bit different compared to when I’m learning english. In case of english, I have all the time I need since elementary school until high school to learn it, little by little, grammar by grammar.

In case of Korean language, however, sometimes I feel a little bit pressured by time. Most of the people living in Korea will know, but for those who don’t, most Korean people that you see on the street could probably speak no english at all. Even when you’re at places like companies, research centers, or university, not everyone can speak english fluently. Since one of my goals is to seek employment in Korea upon graduating, I have no choice but to accelerate my learning process by studying systematically i.e. vocab memorization and formal grammar study.

If I have a lot of spare time, I’d rather study by watching dramas / reading webtoons. But since I’m gunning for TOPIK, seems like I’ll have to take the most efficient route possible. But in this way, sometimes I feel guilty from killing the language itself, reducing it from a living thing into a simple thing, just words chained to each other using grammar.

Why this title? Because memorizing words is like collecting as much ammunition as possible without perhaps learning how to use it in actual situation. Agonizing as it might be, without enough vocabulary in my arsenal I’ve found myself hitting a wall over and over again, even when trying to read the simplest web comic. So I will go this way. Amassing as many ammunition as I can, learn how to shoot properly in between, and go trigger happy when the moment is right.

2 thoughts on “Language Ammunition

  1. I struggled with remembering Korean vocabulary — but two sites have helped me so, so much. One is memrise.com (which takes you through the process of learning vocab words and keeping them in long-term memory) and anki.com — which is a huge database of flashcards. Good luck studying!

Leave a Reply

