The pomodoro technique

Recently, I’ve been trying to use a new technique to increase productivity called the pomodoro technique. For some of you who know a bit of Italian, you might know that pomodoro means tomato. This technique is actually named after a kitchen timer shaped like a tomato.

So how does the technique work? Because I’m too lazy to explain it, here’s a copy paste from wikipedia

There are five basic steps to implementing the technique:

  1. decide on the task to be done
  2. set the pomodoro (timer) to 25 minutes
  3. work on the task until the timer rings; record with an x
  4. take a short break (3-5 minutes)
  5. every four “pomodoros” take a longer break (15–30 minutes)

Basically, it forces you to work in an indivisible 25 minutes period. During this time, you are only allowed to work on whatever task that you decided on point 1. This means that during the 25 minutes, there will be no email checking, IM checking, BBMing, whatever. I’ve tried this technique several times now, and I must admit that it actually help boosts my productivity when doing certain tasks by preventing me from doing stuffs that usually distract me from doing my work.

There are many tools available to help you time your interval. Right now, I’m using pomodroido for my android phone and focus booster for my PC desktop. But this is only my personal preference, and a little bit of googling will find you some other alternatives.

All in all, this pomodoro technique is worth giving a try, especially if you’re in dire need of getting things done.

2 thoughts on “The pomodoro technique

Leave a Reply

