Progress

I think one of the thing that people need to keep themselves motivated, is to see that they’ve been making some progress. I’ll just pick a direct example from my own experience trying to learn a foreign language – korean in this case. I’ve been trying to learn Korean on a day-to-day basis, either by doing self study through hitting the books or attending Korean classes. But sometimes, I think I haven’t been making much progress and this leads to a decline in my motivation in learning Korean. Heck, most of the times I can only answer with either “ye” or “aniyo”

But later on, I tried to re-read some of the Korean books that I received the first time I went to Kaist. When I first got them, I can hardly understand most of the later chapter. But now that I give it another try, it seems like I managed to understand almost anything written there. Which means that compared to when I started, I managed to make a significant progress (at least in a passive way, reading and listening). It’s just that since I improve incrementally in a day-to-day basis, the progress doesn’t feel it’s making that big of an impact.

Maybe this is why you need to make a roadmap on whatever it is that you’re trying to achieve. Try to make a milestone of any goals that you’re trying to accomplish daily, so that whenever you’re wondering where you are, you can always determine your progress by looking at your roadmap. Oh and by the way, I haven’t made my own roadmap either. I’ll try to make this into a habit, by making the list in the morning and rechecking it again in the evening.

Leave a Reply

