Using your laptop as a wireless adapter

Okaay, for some reason I haven’t updated this blog for over 1 month after its creation…

For the end-of-semester’s holiday, I’ve decided to bring my gaming PC back home back from my dorm at Bandung, so that I can still play some of the games with minimum requirements that are obviously not intended to be played on laptops. Only problem is, I’m using a wireless router to share the internet connection back home, and my PC doesn’t have a wireless adapter available that I can use. So, everytime I need to use the internet, I had to use my laptop. Still, I prefer to use my desktop for browsing since it’s a lot more comfortable with bigger screen and keyboard. Buying a wireless adapter for Rp 300,000 seems like a waste of money, since I probably only need wireless access for my desktop for only about two weeks. So, I came up with a solution: using network bridging.

What you’ll need:

  1. An ethernet cable with cross-configuration
  2. A laptop with built-in wireless adapter

How to do it:

  1. Make sure your laptop is connected to the desired wireless network
  2. (Windows XP) open network connection
  3. Choose both the wireless network connection, and the local connection connecting your desktop to your laptop
  4. Right click, and choose ‘bridge network’
  5. ?????
  6. Profit!

How to bridge ’em

Voila! Your desktop should now indicate that it’s able to connect to the internet!

P.S. : set your laptop on minimum power consumption since we only need the wireless connection, but make sure it doesn’t go into standby or hibernation

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

One thought on “Using your laptop as a wireless adapter

Leave a Reply

